Case Study: Asia-Pacific Aquaculture Network

The Network of Aquaculture Centres of Asia-Pacific (NACA), headquartered in Bangkok, Thailand, was initiated by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations in 1975.

NACA is an intergovernmental organization that promotes rural development through sustainable aquaculture to improve rural income, increase food production and foreign exchange earnings, and diversify farm production.

The Network is a partnership among many countries: Australia, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, India, Indonesia, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Democratic Peoples Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Vietnam.

NACA also includes many organizations: the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, the United Nations Development Programme, the Asian Development Bank, the World Bank, the World Organization for Animal Health, the Mekong River Commission, the World Wide Fund for Nature, the MacArthur Foundation, and the Rockefeller Brothers Fund.

The core activities of NACA include:

  • Providing education and training,
  • Supporting collaborative research and development,
  • Developing information and communication network,
  • Establishing policy guidelines and providing support to policies and institutional capacities, and
  • Managing aquatic animal health and disease.