Revisiting the 2004 NRC Report, Safety of Genetically Engineered Foods: Approaches to Assessing Unintended Health Effects.

The committee held a webinar on Thursday, February 26, 2015 to gather information from two members of the 2004 report committee:

Lynn Goldman, Professor, George Washington University bio

Lynn R. Goldman, a pediatrician and an epidemiologist, is the Michael and Lori Milken Dean of George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health. Formerly she was a Professor at the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health Department of Environmental Health Sciences. In 1993, Dr. Goldman was appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate to serve as Assistant Administrator (AA) for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, where she directed the Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention (OCSPP) from 1993 through 1998. As AA for OCSPP she was responsible for the nation’s pesticide, toxic substances, and pollution prevention laws. Under her watch, EPA overhauled the nation’s pesticides laws to assure that children would be protected by pesticide regulations. Prior to joining the EPA, from 1985 until 1993, Dr. Goldman served in several positions at the California Department of Public Health, most recently as chief of the Division of Environmental and Occupational Disease Control. Dr. Goldman was elected a member of the Institute of Medicine in 2007. She has received several awards including the Woodrow Wilson Award for Distinguished Government Service from the Johns Hopkins University Alumni Association (1999), Alumna of the Year from the UC Berkeley School of Public Health (2002), National Library of Medicine, Changing the Face of Women in Medicine (2003), election to the Delta Omega Honor Society (2007), and the Heinz Award for Global Change, (2010). She serves as a member of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration Science Board and the Advisory Council to the Director of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Environmental Defense Fund. Dr. Goldman has a B.S. in conservation of natural resources, an M.S. in health and medical sciences from the University of California, Berkeley, an M.P.H. from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, and an M.D. from the University of California, San Francisco. She completed pediatric training at Children’s Hospital, Oakland, California and is board-certified in pediatrics.

Bettie Sue Masters, Distinguished Professor, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio bio

Bettie Sue Masters holds the Robert A. Welch Foundation Distinguished Chair in Chemistry at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Texas. A native Virginian, she received her undergraduate degree in chemistry at Roanoke College. She was awarded her Ph.D. in biochemistry, with a minor in chemistry, from Duke University in 1963, and continued her training there as a postdoctoral fellow supported sequentially by the American Cancer Society and the American Heart Association. In 1968, Dr. Masters received an Established Investigatorship from the American Heart Association under which she began her academic career at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas. There, she became a Full Professor in 1976 and left in 1982 to become Chair of Biochemistry at the Medical College of Wisconsin. She was recruited to the U.T. Health Science Center in 1990. Currently, her research centers on the structure-function relationships of flavoproteins and heme proteins involved in major monooxygenation pathways as well as the regulation of their respective activities. Dr. Masters has received the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology Excellence in Science Award (1992) and the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics Bernard B. Brodie Award in 2000 and she served on the Advisory Committee to the Director of the National Institutes of Health through 2004, followed by service on the National Advisory Research Resources Council from 2004 to 2009. She was President of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from 2002 to 2004. She was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences in 1996 and was elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2001.

The webinar is an information-gathering meeting for the committee in which the speakers are invited to provide input to the committee.

Follow Us