National Summit on Strategies to Manage Herbicide-Resistant Weeds Agenda

Thursday, May 10, 2012
Jack Morton Auditorium, George Washington University,
805 21st St. NW, Washington, DC

Click here to download a PDF of the agenda.

8:00 a.m. Registration
8:30 a.m. Welcome

Dr. Charles Arntzen, Florence Ely Nelson Presidential Endowed Chair, Arizona State University

9:00 a.m. Herbicide resistance in weeds: What is the nature of the problem?

Dr. Micheal Owen, Professor of Agronomy, Iowa State University

9:30 a.m. The epidemiology of herbicide resistance

Dr. Jodie Holt, Professor of Plant Physiology, University of California-Riverside

10:00 a.m. Combating the problem: Australia’s experience with herbicide resistance

Dr. Michael Walsh, Research Associate Professor, University of Western Australia

10:30 a.m. Break
11:00 a.m. Best management practices to control and combat resistance

Dr. David Shaw, Vice President for Research and Economic Development, Mississippi State University

11:30 a.m. Addressing the pressing problem of herbicide resistance

Dr. Harold Coble, Agronomist, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service

12:00 p.m. Lunch
1:15 p.m. The impediments to using best management practices

Moderator: Mr. Ken Root, Root Communications

Panel: Mr. Ben Barstow, Past-President, Washington Association of Wheat Growers

Mr. Chuck Farr, Crop Consultant, Mid-South Ag Consultants, Inc.

Mr. Dave Miller, Director of Research and Commodity Services, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation

Mr. Steve Reeves, Vice President, Bank of Fayette County

Dr. Dale Shaner, Plant Physiologist, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service

2:45 p.m. A social science perspective on weed management practices

Dr. George Frisvold, Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Extension Specialist, University of Arizona

 ♣ 3:15 p.m. Break
3:30 p.m. What approaches are most likely to encourage the adoption of best management practices?

Moderator: Dr. Kitty Smith, Vice President of Programs & Chief Economist, American Farmland Trust

Panel: Dr. Tom Green, President, IPM Institute of North America

Dr. John Hamer, Venture Partner, Burrill & Company

Dr. Michael Walsh, Research Associate Professor, University of Western Australia

Dr. John Soteres, Chair, Herbicide Resistance Action Committee

Dr. Paul Thompson, W. K. Kellogg Chair in Agricultural, Food and Community Ethics, Michigan State University

5:00 p.m. The land-grant approach

Dr. Steven Leath, President, Iowa State University

5:30 p.m. Reception



Comments are closed.